About the VP

Dr. Cathann A. Kress serves as Vice President for Agricultural Administration and Dean, College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) at The Ohio State University since May 2017. Dean Kress has responsibility for leadership of the college which also comprises OSU Extension, the statewide Agricultural Experiment Station (Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center), and the Agricultural Technical Institute in Wooster. She is also a full professor within the department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership.

Dean Kress previously served as Vice President for Extension and Outreach at Iowa State University, overseeing the 99-county campus network for research and education and as full professor in the School of Education. Prior to her tenure with Iowa State, she was Senior Policy Analyst for Military Community & Family Policy in the Department of Defense, leading national efforts to engage land grant universities in support of military service members and their families. Prior to that, she served as Director, Youth Development at the United States Department of Agriculture, which included serving as Director at National 4-H Headquarters. She was also Assistant Director, Cornell Cooperative Extension at Cornell University.

Dean Kress also served as Assistant Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership at Miami University. In addition, she previously served as an Academic Counselor within the Women’s Athletic Department at the University of Iowa.

Dean Kress is a Trustee of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. She serves on the State of Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board, and served on the National 4-H Council Board, and as chair of the administrative heads section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly, Association of Public and Land Grant Universities.

Dean Kress graduated with distinction from Iowa State University, where she received her Bachelor’s degree. She received her Master’s and Doctorate from the University of Iowa, where she was an American College Testing (ACT) Special Research Fellow.