Recent awards and achievements

highest honor from aps

Larry Madden, Distinguished Professor of Plant Protection in CFAES’ Department of Plant Pathology and an international authority on plant disease epidemiology, has received the Award of Distinction from the American Phytopathological Society (APS). The award is the highest honor bestowed by APS, the world’s largest professional organization for plant pathologists. APS said the award is presented only on rare occasions to persons who have made truly exceptional contributions to plant pathology. Only 15 other individuals have received the award in APS’ 111-year history. Madden was given the award on Aug. 4 at the APS annual meeting in Cleveland. Read more.

Farm to School grant

A Whole Community Inc., a Wooster-based nonprofit organization whose collaborators include the Wayne County office of OSU Extension and faculty and students from the Wooster campus, has received a $99,214 grant from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm to School Grant Program. The grant project, whose collaborators also include Northwestern Local Schools and Wooster City Schools, aims to increase local produce on the schools’ menus and create a flourishing farm to school culture in the schools and community. Read the USDA’s press release about the grant program and a list of all the awardees (scroll to Page 41 for more on the Whole Community project).

PAAR facility honor

The University Laboratory Safety Committee at Ohio State has selected CFAES’ Plant and Animal Agrosecurity Research Facility (PAAR) to receive a 2019 Excellence in Safety Award in the group award category. The award program recognizes students, staff, and groups making considerable contributions to improving lab safety at Ohio State. The winning PAAR team members included an administrative group—Juliette Hanson, Kaitlynn Starr, Alden Sewell, and Willie Coblentz—and a research group—Chang-Won Lee, John Ngunjiri, and Michael Abundo. Together, the team developed high-level safety plans and standard operating procedures to achieve USDA certification to operate as a select agent facility. PAAR, a highly secure biocontainment building located on the Wooster campus, is one of only three Biosafety Level-3 Ag (BSL-3 Ag) facilities in the United States. Read more.

fruit book award

Gary Gao, small-fruit specialist with OSU Extension and The Ohio State University South Centers, received the 2019 Outstanding Book Award from the American Society for Horticultural Science in the organization’s annual Outstanding Educational Award competition. The award was for the Midwest Home Fruit Production GuideOSU Extension bulletin 940. Gao was the editor and a co-author of the book. Co-authors also included Ron Becker, Mike Ellis, Steve Prochaska, Celeste Welty, and Roger Williams. Now in its third version, the book has sold more than 5,000 copies in 32 states.