ATI students win Ohio Turf Bowl Trophy

After a four-year absence, the Ohio Turf Bowl trophy has returned to Ohio State ATI in Wooster. Scott Ingersoll and Josh Stewart, both second-year turfgrass management students, along with first-year student Marq Fairbanks, were victorious in winning the statewide academic competition for turfgrass management students who attend associate degree-awarding colleges in Ohio.

Each year, the Ohio Turfgrass Foundation sponsors the friendly academic competition at the Ohio Turfgrass Foundation Conference and Show. This year’s conference and show took place Dec. 9-11 at the Kalahari Resort in Sandusky. Students tested their skills and knowledge in such areas as turfgrass science, soil science, plant pathology, entomology and weed science, as well as business aspects associated with the turfgrass management industry. This was the eighth year of the competition. Students from Ohio State ATI won the event in the first three years of the competition.

In addition to the winning team of Ingersoll, Stewart and Fairbanks, Ohio State ATI’s teams included:

  • Jonathan Clymer, Matt Wagner and Kevin Rhoads.
  • Travis Russell, Nick Fortunato and Joey Taucher.
  • Zach Herink, Eric Boes, Max McLain and Robert Duling.

Besides Ohio State ATI, the following schools in Ohio offer programs in turfgrass management and are eligible to sponsor teams for the competition:

  • Clark State Community College.
  • Cincinnati State Community College.
  • Columbus State Community College.
  • Kent State University, Stark Campus.
  • Owens State Community College.

Learn more about Ohio State ATI’s turfgrass management program here