CFAES announces hiring, extensions of leadership positions

The college has recently announced a number of new or continued appointments. Here are the details.

Jim Metzger, chair, Horticulture and Crop Science

Jim Metzger has been named chair of the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science. He has a long association with the department and has been serving as interim chair since 2012. A faculty member beginning in 1994, Jim has a distinguished career in his field that includes serving as a plant physiologist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service Bioscience Research Lab in Fargo, North Dakota, from 1980-1994. 

As a professor in the department, Metzger has remained active in his scholarly pursuits, even as he has assumed additional administrative responsibilities. He received CFAES's Rodney F. Plimpton Outstanding Teacher Award in 2002, recognizing his accomplishments in the classroom. In 2011, students in the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science named him an outstanding faculty member.

Metzger has contributed significantly to his field of study through publications in leading journals, editing or writing chapters in books, and presenting at national and international conferences.

Jeanne Osborne, assistant director, ATI

Jeanne Osborne has been named assistant director, Academic Affairs, at Ohio State ATI, effective May 19. Osborne is a CFAES alumna with a B.S. in animal genetics/reproductive physiology and an M.S. in rumen microbiology. She has served at Ohio State in the Department of Animal Sciences, the Department of Internal Medicine, the Department of Human Nutrition, and the School of Physical Activity and Educational Services. She has direct experience in curriculum and course development and teaching as well as a background in student learning assessment and reporting. She assisted in the development of and then taught the "Animals in Society," "Animal Welfare and Behavior in Livestock Industries," and "Domestication and Selection of Dogs" courses in the Department of Animal Sciences.

In her position at ATI, Osborne will provide leadership and supervision to the staff in academic affairs, student success services and the library. She will be responsible for student learning assessment, accreditation, student support services, and grant development and administration. Her other areas of responsibility will include policies concerning academic actions, the master schedule of classes, evaluation of transfer credit, student registration processes and commencement exercises.

Elayne Siegfried, director, Human Resources

On May 1, Elayne Siegfried assumed the role of director, Human Resources, for CFAES. Siegfried will lead CFAES's emerging college-wide human resources strategy that includes implementation of many recommendations from the recently completed human resources review. In this role, she will be working across the college to further develop and implement human resource strategic plans, goals and objectives as she manages all aspects of the operation, including workforce planning and recruitment, compensation, organizational effectiveness, performance management, training, and employee and labor relations.

As a member of the college's senior leadership team, she will work with Dean McPheron's cabinet and report through Senior Associate Dean Ron Hendrick.

Siegfried brings about 20 years of diverse administrative and human resource management experience to the position, including her most recent role as human resources manager for OARDC. She has a successful record of accomplishments, including having served as assistant safety service director for human resources and risk management for the city of Elyria and as director of human resources and purchasing for the city of Parma.

She has a strong foundation in conflict resolution, training and organizational management that was developed in part through her service as director of volunteer legal services for Community Legal Aid Services Inc. and as a managing attorney for Western Reserve Legal Services.

Henry Zerby, chair, Animal Sciences

Henry Zerby, professor of meat science, has been named chair of the Department of Animal Sciences. He has been at Ohio State since 1999, when he joined the faculty of the department after receiving his Ph.D. from Colorado State University. He has built a solid reputation as a faculty member through his teaching, research and service and has had leadership roles on a variety of departmental, college and university committees.

Zerby is an accomplished teacher and has been recognized by CFAES for his outstanding classroom teaching and support of students. At the 2014 CFAES Recognition Banquet, he received the Outstanding Academic Mentor award, and in 2004, received the Price Teaching Award. Additionally, he has received numerous awards for his leadership in support of state and national organizations.

Administratively, Zerby has provided leadership for the college's Meat Science Laboratory. Internationally, he has presented at a variety of conferences, has provided support and expertise to collaborative projects, and has served as a resident instructor for the Human and Animal Study Abroad Program. The university has also benefited from his leadership, as he most recently served as chair of the Council on Academic Affairs.

Interim appointments extended

Sheryl Barringer's appointment as interim chair of the Department of Food Science and Technology has been extended while the search for a permanent chair continues. Barringer has been on the faculty of Ohio State since 1994 and has served in the departmental leadership role since 2012. 

Jim Kinder's appointment as interim director of Ohio State ATI has been extended for an additional year as ATI continues its re-envisioning process. Kinder has held a number of administrative appointments at Ohio State since his return in 1999 and was named interim director in 2012.