CFAES honors outstanding students, faculty, staff, stakeholders

Student recognition program

The College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences held its 2014 Recognition Banquet on Thursday, April 17, in the Archie Griffin Ballroom at the Ohio Union in Columbus. Nearly 650 individuals came together to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of our students, faculty, staff and stakeholders. This year’s banquet was dedicated to Jill A. Pfister, retired assistant dean of academic programs.

The following awards were presented during the evening, including CFAES’s Outstanding Seniors, whose pictures you can see in a video here:

Outstanding Seniors

  • Kristen Bartholomew, Animal Sciences
  • Clair Bullock, Environmental Policy and Decision Making
  • Matheus DeNardo, Natural Resource Management
  • Molly DePue, Animal Sciences
  • Sarah Finney, Animal Sciences
  • Amy Jo Frost, Agriscience Education
  • Mara Gordon, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Mike Hannewald, Sustainable Plant Systems
  • Kristy Klingenberg, Animal Sciences
  • Kelsey Koke, Animal Sciences
  • Eric Leber, Agricultural Systems Management
  • Danielle Matthews, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • Amanda Prickett, Animal Sciences
  • Allison Pullin, Animal Sciences
  • Ana Purgianto, Food Science and Technology
  • Nick Rettig, Agribusiness and Applied Economics
  • John Schoenhals, Plant Pathology
  • Lara Staples, Animal Sciences
  • Stephanie Verhoff, Sustainable Plant Systems
  • Katherine Wenner, Animal Sciences

Gamma Sigma Delta Scholarship

  • Mike Hannewald, Horticulture and Crop Science

Lee Johnston Scholarship Award

  • Rachel Hefflinger, School of Environment and Natural Resources

Jill A. Pfister Outstanding First Year Student

  • Lauren Corry, Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
  • Megan Harris, Agricultural, Environmental and Development Economics

Ray A. Miller Council Scholarship

  • Amanda Prickett, Animal Sciences

Outstanding Academic Mentor Award

  • Henry Zerby, Animal Sciences

Outstanding New Activity Award

  • Collegiate Young Farmers, Farm to Fork Program

Ed Johnson Outstanding Student Organization Award

  • Saddle & Sirloin Club

Outstanding Undergraduate Employee Award

  • Megan Moorman, Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership

CFAES Internship Award

  • Kristy Klingenberg, Animal Sciences
  • Ellen Gilliland, Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
  • Samantha Ward, Food Science and Technology
  • Elizabeth Roche, Plant Pathology

Outstanding Service to Students

  • Mike Ellis, Professor, Plant Pathology
  • Renee Johnston, Academic Program Manager, School of Environment and Natural Resources

Meritorious Service to Students

  • Dale Leppo, Leppo Equipment
  • Tom Katen, Cargill Industries

Towers Faculty Award

  • Pat Whittington, Assistant Dean, Student Development

Rodney F. Plimpton Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Brian Lower, School of Environment and Natural Resources
  • Tom Mitchell, Plant Pathology