2023 Spirit of the Land Grant Award

The CFAES Spirit of the Land Grant Award recognizes an individual or team that supports or creates opportunities that embody our land grant DNA, including translational research, collaboration and engagement, students as co-creators, lifespan learning and future perspective.

Congratulations to the incredible recipients of the 2023 Spirit of the Land Grant Award, the CFAES East Palestine Response Team! This dynamic team embodies the true essence of our land grant DNA. We would like to commend each member of this remarkable team, including Haley Shoemaker, Jeff Hattey, Devin Peterson, Adam Ward, Heather Raymond, Matt Teegarden, Maurice Eastridge, Dee Jepsen, Jason Hartschuh, Michael Bisesi, Eric Barrett, Sam Custer, and Karen Chou from Michigan State University. Pictured along with members of the team are CFAES Vice President and Dean Cathann Kress and Senior Associate Dean Tracy Kitchel.