Ohio Farm Bureau marker unveiled in Columbus

CFAES celebrated Ohio Farm Bureau’s 100th anniversary last month with the unveiling of a historical marker in front of Jennings Hall on Ohio State’s Columbus campus, the location of the first Ohio Farm Bureau meeting in January 1919. Speaking at the ceremony were (from left) Brent Porteus, former Ohio Farm Bureau president and current Ohio State trustee and Nationwide director; Cathann A. Kress, Ohio State’s vice president for agricultural administration and dean of CFAES; Frank Burkett III, president of Ohio Farm Bureau; and Adam Sharp, executive vice president of Ohio Farm Bureau.

Kress, in her comments to the crowd, said, “When you take up the challenge of agriculture, essentially what we all commit ourselves to is an important purpose, a compelling mission. What we all do is, we sustain life. Congratulations, Ohio Farm Bureau, happy birthday, and welcome home.”

Dean Kress speaks at the ceremony

Read further coverage. (Photos: Ken Chamberlain, CFAES.)