Dean Announces Leadership Reappointments

Dean Kress

In July, Vice President and Dean Cathann A. Kress announced three reappointments to the CFAES leadership team. They are Sheryl Barringer as chair of the Department of Food Science and Technology, Jim Metzger as chair of the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, and Jeff Sharp as director of the School of Environment and Natural Resources.

Sheryl BarringerSheryl Barringer

Barringer, reappointed for a four-year term through May 30, 2022, joined Ohio State in 1994, became interim chair in 2013, and permanent chair in 2015. She holds a BS with Highest Honors in food science from the University of Illinois and a Ph.D. in food science and nutrition from the University of Minnesota, where she was a USDA National Needs Fellow.

In addition to being department chair, Barringer teaches courses in fruit and vegetable processing, technical problem solving, and chocolate science, and was the 2001 and 2005 recipient of the CFAES Outstanding Teaching Award. She is the Associate Editor for the Foods & Food Ingredients Journal of Japan and a member of numerous professional organizations. Her research is in flavor volatiles, coatings, snack foods, and fruit and vegetable processing. In 1997, she received the OARDC Outstanding Research Award, in 2004, the Institute of Food Technologists Samuel Cate Prescott Award, and in 2015 became a Fellow of the Institute of Food Technologists.

“This is a key time for the department, and I have asked Dr. Barringer to focus on the strategic priorities for the future success of the department,” Kress said. “I appreciate having Dr. Barringer’s expertise and her practical and dedicated approach on our leadership team.”

Jim Metzger

Metzger, reappointed for a three-year term through May 30, 2021, joined Ohio State in 1994, became interim chair in 2012, and permanent chair in 2014. He holds a BA in biology from Jim MetzgerMillersville University of Pennsylvania and his Ph.D. in botany from Michigan State University.

Metzger’s research area is crop physiology with a program objective to develop new methods that reduce production costs of crops by applying fundamental knowledge of critical plant processes. Metzger has been an author or co-author of nearly 120 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters and continues to make significant contributions to the department’s undergraduate and graduate teaching and advising programs. He was the recipient of the ASHS Cross Commodity Publication Award in 2001, the Plimpton Teaching Award in 2002, the Outstanding Faculty Award, Students of the Departments of Horticulture and Crop Science and Plant Pathology in 2011, and the CFAES Outstanding Academic Mentoring Award in 2016.

“I have asked Dr. Metzger to focus around some key priorities and develop strategies for moving the department forward. I have also asked for his attention to facilitating communication and collegiality between the Columbus and Wooster campuses to ensure the future success of the department,” Kress said. “I appreciate having Dr. Metzger’s expertise and his dedication to projects, like the future of Waterman, on our leadership team.”

Jeff Sharp

Sharp, reappointed for a four-year term through May 30, 2022, joined Ohio State in 1998, became interim director in 2013, and permanent director in 2014. He hasJeff Sharp a B.S. in political science, an M.S. in rural sociology, and a Ph.D. in sociology from Iowa State University.

Sharp’s research focuses on community and agricultural change, with particular attention focused on changes occurring at the rural-urban interface and local food system development. He has over 70 research articles, chapters and extension bulletins and has been the lead investigator on over $750,000 in federal competitive grants. He has taught both undergrad and graduate courses, and his outreach activities have focused on generating practical data and conducting programs that increase understanding of social constraints and opportunities associated with agriculture and the environment, primarily at the community level.

“Dr. Sharp is a strategic leader and dedicated to developing a collaborative and supportive culture within the school and the college. We believe Dr. Sharp demonstrates the leadership to continue to move the school toward increasing eminence,” Kress said. “I appreciate having Dr. Sharp’s expertise and continual pursuit of excellence on our leadership team.” -- Michelle Ball