Four CFAES professionals honored by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

From left to right: David Benfield, Mary Rodriguez, Steve Neal, and Mary Kay Pohlschneider.

COLUMBUS, Ohio–An expert in community leadership, a food scientist, a retired associate dean and a retired associate vice president of Agricultural Administration were honored this month for their research, teaching and service to The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU).

Mary Rodriguez, assistant professor of agricultural communication, education and leadership; Mary Kay Pohlschneider, senior lecturer in the CFAES Department of Food Science and Technology; Steve Neal, retired associate dean, and director of CFAES academic programs; and David Benfield, retired associate vice president of Agricultural Administration, director of the CFAES Wooster Campus, and associate director, Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center, were honored Nov. 6 by the Washington, D.C.-based research, policy, and advocacy organization.

“Our college strives to advance industry, advance science, advance knowledge, and most importantly advance people,” said Cathann A. Kress, Ohio State’s vice president for agricultural administration and dean of CFAES. “We strive to address grand challenges facing humanity and our world through discovery and research, education, partnership– but mostly– at CFAES, we sustain life through the persistent efforts of each one of our people.

“The persistent efforts of Drs. Rodriguez, Pohlschneider, Neal and Benfield showcase our college’s commitment to scholarship across our three mission areas of teaching, research, and Extension. On behalf of the college, I want to congratulate them on these well-deserved honors, and thank them for their service, dedication, and ability to not only build solutions but also relationships that help us fulfill our purpose: we sustain life.”

The awards were presented during the APLU annual meeting this month.

Tracy Turner