Lee Elected Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science

Ken Lee in lab

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ken Lee, a professor in The Ohio State University’s College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences, has been elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Lee joins four other Ohio State faculty members who were elected to the association this year.

The recognition is bestowed upon leading researchers by their peers for scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to promote science or its applications.

Lee, who is also the director and lead investigator of Ohio State’s Food Innovation Center, was honored for his distinguished academic leadership in food science, for his service to professional organizations, and for his communication of discoveries and controversies about foods to the public.

“Ken Lee’s leadership at Ohio State and in our college is well-deserving of this recognition,” said Ron Hendrick, acting dean and vice president for agricultural administration at the university. “For decades, he has provided a powerful voice for clear thinking related to food and nutrition issues, and his many contributions to his profession represent the strong scholarship, diligence and dedication prevalent among our faculty.”

Lee began his career at Ohio State when he was named chair of the Department of Food Science and Technology in 1990. He remained in that role until 2005. During his tenure, he helped lead a successful fund-raising drive for the construction of the Parker Food Science and Technology Building, which opened in 2001.

As director of the Food Innovation Center, Lee provides leadership for 370 experts from 15 of the university’s colleges to address global food issues.

In a statement, Ohio State President Michael V. Drake said the five Ohio State scientists elected this year “demonstrate the wide reach of Ohio State research. They exemplify the university’s mission of creating the knowledge and discoveries that make a difference in people’s lives.”

With the addition of these new honorees, Ohio State boasts more than 100 AAAS Fellows.

Founded in 1848, AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society. In all, 347 members received the honor this year. The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874.

The new Fellows will be welcomed in a ceremony at the AAAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in February.


Editor: Portions of this news release came from the University Communications announcement about this year’s AAAS Fellows. It is online at news.osu.edu/news/2015/11/23/2015-aaas-fellows/.

CFAES News Team