Ohio State CFAES names its top 26 seniors

CFAES Distinguished Senior Award

COLUMBUS, Ohio—Twenty-six seniors have received the most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES).

The Distinguished Senior Award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership.

“The 2022 recipients are our future innovators and leaders who have already made an impact within the academic environment at this university and beyond,” said Steven Neal, CFAES professor and associate dean for academic programs. 

Listed below are the Distinguished Seniors, including their academic units, majors, and hometowns.

Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
Madison Allman, Community Leadership, Chillicothe, Ohio
Maryellen Bliss, Agriscience Education, Ashland, Ohio
Mallary Caudill, Agricultural Communication, DeGraff, Ohio

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics
Cora Dorman, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, Croton, Ohio 
Tyler Zimpfer, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, Anna, Ohio 

Department of Animal Sciences
Sarah Lehner, (double major) Animal Sciences and Agribusiness and Applied Economics, Delaware, Ohio
Elizabeth Ohl, Animal Sciences, Alexandria, Ohio
Ashley Stroud, Animal Sciences, Spencer, Ohio
Bailey Ward, Animal Sciences, Oak Hill, Ohio

Department of Entomology
Camden Dezse, Entomology, Dublin, Ohio

Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Shannon Dixon, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Palm Bay, Florida
Mackenzie Lange, Construction Systems Management, Commercial Point, Ohio
Emma Rand, Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering, Guilford, Connecticut
Preston Sheets, Agricultural Systems Management, Cortland, Ohio 

Department of Food Science and Technology 
Meegan Gould, Food Science and Technology, Cincinnati, Ohio
Thania Ortiz Santiago, Food Science and Technology, Toa Alta, Puerto Rico
Lydia Tantalo, Food Science and Technology, 
Manlius, New York
Emily Thimmes, Food Science and Technology, Piqua, Ohio

Department of Horticulture and Crop Science 
Avery Brewer, Sustainable Plant Systems, Hudson, Ohio
Ava Forystek, Sustainable Plant Systems, Dublin, Ohio

Department of Plant Pathology
Isabella Borrero, Plant Pathology, Tampa, Florida

School of Environment and Natural Resources
Gautam Apte, Forestry, Fisheries & Wildlife, Shaker Heights, Ohio
Danielle Hutchison, Natural Resource Management, Lewis Center, Ohio
Alisa Mancini, Environmental Science, Girard, Ohio 
Andrew Moffit, Environment, Economy, Development and Sustainability, Dublin, Ohio
Katherine Oriyo, Forestry, Fisheries & Wildlife, Reynoldsburg, Ohio

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s recognition of the CFAES Distinguished Seniors will occur on Wednesday, March 23, 2022, via a YouTube Premiere video beginning at 7 p.m. on the Ohio State—College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences YouTube channel. Vice President for Agricultural Administration and CFAES Dean Cathann A. Kress will recognize award recipients during this special event.

“Because the safety of our community is our top priority, we will gather virtually,” Neal said. “However, this honor and these 26 students remain an important focus of our college. Their commitment to their education and dedication to their time as an undergraduate student will be recognized via social media, professional networking platforms, and the YouTube Premiere video. We invite everyone to view the video on March 23.” 

In autumn 2021, there were 2,400 undergraduate students in CFAES pursuing 23 majors and 34 minorsLearn more about CFAES academic programs at go.osu.edu/B4V2.

Sherrie R. Whaley
For more information, contact: 

R. Warren Flood