Twenty-five Distinguished Seniors named by Ohio State CFAES


COLUMBUS, Ohio—The most prestigious undergraduate award at The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) will be presented to 25 seniors in March.

The Distinguished Senior Award honors top graduating seniors on the Ohio State Columbus campus who exemplify the CFAES mission in areas such as academics and scholarship, research and innovation, service and involvement, and influence and leadership.

“We hope these 25 award recipients feel a tremendous sense of accomplishment in their success as a student in the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences,” said Ann Christy, CFAES professor and associate dean for academic programs. “It’s remarkable how they have succeeded in the classroom, throughout our community, among fellow classmates, and will continue to make strong impact as graduates of The Ohio State University.” 

Listed below are the Distinguished Seniors, including their academic units, majors, and hometowns:

Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership
Claire M. Meyer, Agricultural Communication, Cygnet, Ohio
Hayley F. Milliron, Agriscience Education, Springfield, Ohio
Elizabeth M. Strine, Community Leadership, Caledonia, Ohio

Department of Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics
Ally A. Ott, Agribusiness and Applied Economics, St. Marys, Ohio

Department of Animal Sciences
Joseph R. Gryboski, Animal Sciences, Floyd Knobs, Indiana
Faith N. Hagelberger, Animal Sciences, Minster, Ohio
Elena M. McGoey, Animal Sciences, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Allison R. Sanders, Animal Sciences, Springfield, Ohio

Department of Entomology
Matthew D. Semler, Entomology, Bay Village, Ohio

Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering
Cassidy M. Brozovich, Ecological Engineering, Warren, Ohio
Madison W. Kacica, Ecological Engineering, Burton, Ohio

Spencer D. Logan, Agricultural Systems Management, Cortland, Ohio
Dante W. Spieker, Construction Systems Management, Cygnet, Ohio

Department of Food Science and Technology
Gabriella J. Gephart, Food Science & Technology, Powell, Ohio
Celeste E. Miller, Food Science and Technology, New Franklin, Ohio

Cameron C. Rich, Food Science and Technology, Dublin, Ohio

Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
Isabel C. Delamater, Sustainable Plant Systems, Marysville, Ohio

Conner M. Johnson, Sustainable Agriculture, Wauseon, Ohio
Corinne K. Lee, Sustainable Plant Systems, Marysville, Ohio

Department of Plant Pathology
Shane M. Allan, Plant Pathology, Grove City, Ohio

School of Environment and Natural Resources
Grace R. Gutierrez, Forestry, Fisheries and Wildlife, Columbus, Ohio

Airianna P. McGuire, Forestry, Fisheries and Wildlife, Mansfield, Ohio
Donald Liam Nigro, Environment, Economy, Development and Sustainability, Cleveland, Ohio
Mary Kate E. Rinderle, Environmental Science, Columbus, Ohio
Abigail R.X.P. Thiel, Environment, Economy, Development and Sustainability, Upper Sandusky, Ohio

A reception for the award recipients will be held on Wednesday, March 22, hosted by Ann Christy and Cathann A. Kress, vice president for agricultural administration and CFAES dean. Join them at 8 p.m. to celebrate the students via a YouTube video release at

“Honoring the 25 recipients for their excellence will be a highlight for us this spring. These students have excelled and most certainly will continue to thrive in their future careers,” said Christy.

In autumn 2022, there were 2,248 undergraduate students in CFAES pursuing bachelor of science degrees in 22 majors. Learn more about CFAES academic programs at

Sherrie R. Whaley
For more information, contact: 

R. Warren Flood