FABE cleans up at ASABE awards

Erdal Ozkan receives honor

Faculty members and alumni of the Department of Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering were honored in July at the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

Erdal Ozkan was named a Class of 2017 ASABE fellow, the organization's highest honor. ASABE defines a Fellow as a member of unusual professional distinction, with outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in, or related to, the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. They possess a minimum of 20 years of active practice in, or related to, the profession of engineering; the teaching of engineering; or the teaching of an engineering-related curriculum and a minimum of 20 years as an active Member-Engineer or Member in ASABE.

Scott Shearer received the Cyrus Hall McCormick Jerome Case Gold Medal Award which honors exceptional and meritorious engineering achievement in agriculture that has resulted in new concepts, products, processes or methods that advanced the development of agriculture.

Ann Christy received the Massey-Ferguson Educational Gold Medal Award which honors those whose dedication to the sprit of learning and teaching in the field of agricultural engineering has advanced with distinction our agricultural knowledge and practice and whose efforts serve as an inspiration to others.

Two alumni were also honored. Sylvia Schonauer, retired from Kellogg Co. was named a 2017 ASABE Fellow, and Matt Darr, now with Iowa State University, received the New Holland Young Researcher Award for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the profession and to stimulate professional achievement.