CFAES faculty among recipients of Ohio State-Brazil grants

Four proposals from teams with CFAES-connected faculty members are among the 12 mobility grants (up to $20,000) and seven regular research grants (up to $100,000) being jointly funded by Ohio and the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).

  • Thaddeus Chukwuemeka Ezeji, Animal Sciences, and Adriano Pinto Mariano, Faculdade de Engenharia Química/Unicamp, “Energy-efficient production of butanol (an advanced biofuel) from eucalyptus wood.”
  • Peter Piermarini, Entomology, and Margareth de Lara Capurro Guimarães, Instituto de Ciências Biomédicas/USP, “The effects of dengue infection on the molecular physiology of mosquito kidneys.”
  • Erich Grotewold, Horticulture and Crop Science, and Michael dos Santos Brito, Instituto Agronômico Campinas/SAASP, “Wax or wood? Establishing the function of plant shine transcription factors.”
  • Ana Paula Alonso, Center for Applied Plant Sciences, and Marcos Silveira Buckeridge, Instituto de Biociências/USP, “Setting the basic for engineering C3 and C4 crops to adapt to scenarios of future climate changes.”

The grant program aims to build and strengthen research collaborations and encourage the exchange of researchers between FAPESP and Ohio State.

The funding is made available through a Scientific Cooperation Agreement signed in March 2013. Ohio State and FAPESP each will contribute $450,000.

See the full list of funded proposals here