Awards and recognitions

FSLI Fellows

Graham Cochran, CFAES associate dean for operations, and Terry Niblack, retired CFAES senior associate dean, were among 26 Fellows of the Food Systems Leadership Institute honored at the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities in November in San Diego.

The Fellows were recognized for their accomplishments in completing the FSLI executive leadership development program and for contributions they have made to their individual organizations and to broader higher education and food systems. The FSLI is a two-year program designed for experienced leaders in academia, government, and industry.

Read more.

AFA Student Advisory Team

CFAES agronomy student Aaron Smith was recently selected as one of the 10 members of the Agriculture Future of America’s (AFA) 2020 Student Advisory Team. Representing 10 schools from 10 states, the students will represent AFA as they interact with agribusiness leaders, campus faculty, and fellow students during their service year.

“As an organization, we value students as leaders,” AFA President and CEO Mark Stewart said. “This group of young people selected as AFA student leaders plays an important role in everything we do. They are our student voice and influence the direction of our programs.”

Read more.