College Faculty Honored by University

Three college faculty members recently received prominent university awards.

Brian H. Lower, School of Environment and Natural Resources, and Luis Enrique Rodriguez-Saona, Food Science and Technology, each received the Alumni Award for Distinguised Teaching. This award annually recognizes a maximum of ten faculty members for their teaching excellence.  Students, faculty, and alumni may nominate faculty; and a committee of students, previous recipients, and alumni choose the recipients.

Recipients are recognized with a $5,000 honorarium made possible by gifts from The Ohio State University Alumni Association, University Advancement, and the Office of Academic Affairs. In addition, the Office of Academic Affairs awards an increase of $1,200 to each recipient’s base salary.  Members are also inducted into the Academy of Teaching.

Ann Christy, Food, Agricultural, and Biological Engineering and the College of Enginnering, received the Distinguished Scholar Award. Each year the university recognizes and honors six faculty members who demonstrate scholarly activity, research or other creative works which represent exceptional achievements in their fields. Recipients of the award receive a $20,000 research grant and a $3,000 honorarium to pursue their scholarly activity.