Awards and recognitions

John Foltz, chair of the Department of Animal Sciences, has been elected to the FarmHouse Fraternity International Executive Board (IEB), where he will serve a four-year term. As an undergraduate at Ohio State, Foltz was a member of Alpha Zeta Fraternity, now FarmHouse Fraternity.

The CFAES Viticulture Program recently received one of the American Society for Horticultural Science’s 2018 Extension Material Awards. The award came in the Video category for “Grapevine Canopy Management,” which was prepared by former graduate student Thomas Todaro, now of Michigan State University, and advisor Imed Dami. Watch the video.

Rattan Lal, Distinguished University Professor of Soil Science in the School of Environment and Natural Resources and director of the Carbon Management and Sequestration Center, received an honorary doctorate degree from Gustavus Adolphus College during the 54th Nobel Conference on Oct. 2-3 in Minnesota. The college has recognized 92 winners of Nobel Prizes with honorary doctorates. Lal was a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change that received the Peace Prize in 2007.

Tracy Kitchel, chair of the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL), was recently selected as the North Central American Association for Agricultural Education Outstanding Agricultural Educator. The annual award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions over the years to agricultural education.

The Construction Systems Management (CSM) student team of John Hagan, Andrew Schmidt, John Trainor, Lexi Brotherton, Daniel Groudle and Donovan Kitchen recently took second place in the Associated Schools of Construction Heavy/Civil Competition. CSM program lecturer Don Schafer is the team’s advisor.

Peggy Kirk Hall, associate professor and field specialist, OSU Extension, received the Distinguished Service Award from the American Agricultural Law Association on Oct. 26 during the association’s annual conference in Portland, Oregon. The award is given annually to an AALA member for contributions to the organization and to agricultural law.

Hall also recently received the National Association of County Agriculture Agents’ 2018 Distinguished Service Award during the group’s annual conference in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The award is given to agents with more than 10 years of service in Cooperative Extension who have exhibited excellence in the field of Extension education.

Allen Auck, program manager of events and activities in the State 4-H office and a graduate of ACEL, was recently inducted into the Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame. For more than 30 years, Auck has worked tirelessly to ensure that 4-H youth have a positive experience at the Ohio State Fair. His efforts as the 4-H superintendent involve scheduling and coordinating all non-livestock activities.

The Department of Food Science and Technology inducted John Litchfield, Carl Obenauf, William Spain, Ira Gould (posthumous) and Lester Stauffer (posthumous) into its Hall of Distinction on Oct. 5. Read their bios. The FST Hall of Distinction recognizes individuals for their contributions to food science and technology as well as their support of the department and Ohio State.