CFAES Staff Advisory Council honors outstanding staff members

College staff members were honored at the CFAES Staff Advisory Council (SAC) Awards Luncheon Nov. 6. The annual luncheon is sponsored by the council as a way for SAC, unit leaders and college administrators to recognize four outstanding staff members who are nominated by their colleagues and peers.

CFAES Dean Bruce McPheron welcomed attendees and presented the awards. Keynote speaker Mike Boehm, Ohio State’s vice provost for academic and strategic planning, spoke about Ohio State’s commitment to faculty, staff and student success and identified four sets of core goals that are key to promoting excellence in the college.

The annual awards are presented in four areas. The Shirley Brooks-Jones Citizenship Award recognizes outstanding citizenship activities by a CFAES staff member. The award is named for Shirley Brooks-Jones, whose extraordinary work throughout the world and active involvement and remarkable service during her tenure at Ohio State make her an exemplary role model for service to faculty and staff members, students, and those beyond the Ohio State community. The 2014 recipient of the Shirley Brooks-Jones Citizenship Award is Nathan Douridas, farm manager for Farm Science Review.

Three Above and Beyond Awards honor staff members who stand out in their efforts and contributions.

  • The Key Values Award recognizes a staff member for dedication, cooperation and a positive attitude in the workplace. The 2014 recipient is Kathy Yoder, head librarian for the ATI Library.
  • The Innovation Award is given to a staff member for developing and/or participating in project initiatives and/or process operations improvements that enhance CFAES, OSU Extension, ATI or OARDC and their missions. The 2014 recipient is Christopher Gecik, design engineer in the Department of Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering.
  • The Special Recognition Award is presented to a staff member for special commitment to tasks, positive customer service and improved workplace communication. The 2014 recipient is Kathy Bulka, office administrative associate, OSU Extension, Medina County.

Our congratulations to these deserving staff members.

For details about CFAES Staff Advisory Council and for photos from the luncheon, click here.—CFAES Staff Advisory Council