CFAES Endowed faculty appointments

CFAES Endowed faculty appointments

George R. and Genevieve B. Gist Endowed Chair in OSU Extension

Greg Davis

Greg previously served as assistant dean of OSU Extension and associate chair of the Department of Extension; assistant director, OSU Extension Community Development; leader, Community Economics and Business, a collaboration between the departments of Extension and Agricultural, Environmental, and Development Economics (AEDE); and district community development specialist and county educator for OSU Extension. Throughout these roles, he has focused on engaging with community development professionals in developing programs, curriculum, and partnerships in pursuit of applied scholarship and funding/revenue, as well as community-based applied research, teaching, and service focused on empowering individuals, groups, organizations, and communities to better understand their economy and methods for strengthening it. Interwoven throughout these program efforts was a focus on the professional development of faculty and staff. Dr. Davis earned degrees from the University of Findlay and Bowling Green State University, and earned his Ph.D. in Extension education from Ohio State in 2004.

W. K. Kellogg Foundation Endowed Chair in Agricultural Ecosystems Management

Doug Jackson-Smith

Doug first joined CFAES as a pr ofessor and associate dir ector in the School of Environment and Natural Resources in 2016. He has won numerous national awards and authored, co-authored, or reviewed more than 362 publications including books, book chapters, journal articles, research papers, and scholarly presentations. A trained sociologist, Dr. Jackson-Smith also has a significant background in geography, economics, political science, and anthropology. His research focuses on the social and economic drivers and impacts of structural and technological change in agriculture. He has organized and led multiple interdisciplinary teams with agricultural and environmental scientists to carry out engaged scholarship and outreach related to social and environmental dynamics of complex working landscapes. Dr. Jackson-Smith earned his Ph.D. and two master’s degrees from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and earned his bachelor's from Cornell University.

Dr. Rattan Lal Endowed Professor

Jim Ippolito

Jim has held various academic and research positions, including his most recent role as a professor emeritus in the Department of Soil and Crop Sciences at Colorado State University (CSU). He has also served as a research soil scientist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture-Agricultural Research Service (USDA-ARS). Dr. Ippolito’s research interests encompass soil health, soil fertility, agroecosystems, heavy metals in soils, and their impacts on plant, animal, and human health. His work focuses on identifying and mitigating the risks posed by inorganic and organic pollutants in soils, ultimately benefiting not only the environment but also food systems and overall well-being. In addition to his research contributions, Dr. Ippolito is a dedicated educator, offering courses to provide students with a deep understanding of soil nutrient management and its significance in sustainable agriculture. He earned a Ph.D. in environmental soil quality/chemistry from CSU in December 2001, a M.S. in soil chemistry/fertility from CSU, and a B.S. in plant science with an agronomy concentration and a minor in microbiology from the University of Delaware.

Professorship in Plant Protection

Guo-Liang Wang

Guo-Liang’s research focuses on the mechanisms of plant-pathogen interaction and the signal transduction pathways leading to the induction of disease resistance responses, with the long-term goal of genetically engineering plants for disease resistance to reduce reliance on the environmentally damaging pesticides. He uses rice as the model plant to clone disease-resistance genes and genes involved in resistance responses to rice fungal and bacterial pathogens. He has authored or co-authored over 230 peer-reviewed papers with over 24,971 total citations. Wang is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a recipient of The Ohio State University’s Distinguished Scholar Award. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of the Philippines Los Baños and Intl Rice Research Institute (IRRI), M.Sc. from Fujian Agricultural University, and B.Sc. from Hunan Agricultural University.

Sandy and Andy Ross Endowed Chadwick Director

Laura Deeter

Laura Deeter earned a B.S. and Ph.D. in landscape horticulture from CFAES. Prior to her appointment as the Sandy and Andy Ross Endowed Director of the Chadwick Arboretum and Learning Gardens and professor of professional practice in the Department of Horticulture and Crop Science, Dr. Deeter served as professor in the Division of Horticultural Technologies at Ohio State ATI on the CFAES Wooster campus. Laura began her career within CFAES as a graduate teaching and research assistant on the Columbus campus in 1995, moving to the CFAES Wooster campus in 2000, to serve as assistant professor in the Division of Horticultural Technologies at ATI. Dr. Deeter has been awarded the ATI Distinguished Teaching Award three times, the Ohio State Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching, the Perennial Plant Association Teaching Award, the American Horticulture Society Teaching Award, the Perennial Plant Association Service Award, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ohio Landscape Association, and Professor of the Year from Instructure.